Members
Post a Message
Change Profile

Discussion
Topics
Last Day
Last Week
Tree View

Search Board
Keyword Search
By Date

Utilities
Contact
Administration

Documentation
Getting Started
Formatting
Troubleshooting
Program Credits

Coupons
Best Coupons
Freebie Newsletter!
Coupons & Free Stuff

 

Ebay question???

Moms View Message Board: General Discussion Archive: Archive May 2005: Ebay question???
By Kernkate on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 11:20 am:

I just got this in my email....do you think its bogus???


Place or Update Credit Card on File



Dear eBay,

During our regularly schedule account maintenance and verification we have detected a slight error in your billing information on file with eBay. This might be due to either following reasons:


- A recent change in your personal information (i.e. change of address)
- Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.
- An inability to accurately verify your selected option of payment due an internal error within
our processors.



Your credit card on file with eBay

Card number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX (Not shown for security purposes) Expiration date: 02/07



Please sign in to your eBay account and update your billing information:

http://signin.ebay.com/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn&ssPageName=h:h:sin:US

If your account information is not update, your ability to sell or bid on eBay will become restricted.


Thank you,
eBay Billing Department


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

eBay treats your personal information with the utmost care, and our Privacy Policy is designed to protect you and your information. eBay will never ask their users for personal information, such as bank account numbers, credit card numbers, pin numbers, passwords, or Social Security numbers in an email. For more information on how to protect your eBay password and your account, please visit User Account Protection.

This eBay notice was sent to you based on your eBay account preferences and in accordance with our Privacy Policy. To change your notification preferences, click here. If you would like to receive this email in text format, click here.

Copyright Š 2005 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc

By Kaye on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 11:21 am:

Sounds legit, but that is how scams are. I would go to ebay and check it out. Do NOT click on a link in that email, it may send you somewhere else. go directly to ebay and check your settings.

By Tonya on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 11:23 am:

Go to ebay directly not through the quick click then you can check and not have to worry.

By Yjja123 on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 11:25 am:

ABSOLUTELY a scam!

By Crystal915 on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 11:41 am:

I second the scam opinion. I get Paypal ones frequently that look totally legit, but when you scroll over the hotlink to preview the address it's something other than Paypal. I've changed credit cards on Ebay before, and they've never emailed me about the card being invalid. The only time Ebay even needs a credit card is if you are a seller, to collect seller fees. They wouldn't suspend your account for it unless you had past due fees.

By Heaventree on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 11:50 am:

Be very careful. I would not respond to the email but contact EBAY directly and let them know you received this email.

A woman here replied to a similar email, however they requested banking information and her bank account was cleaned out. There was nothing anyone could do.

By Ginny~moderator on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 12:01 pm:

ABSOLUTELY A SCAM. Go to eBay directly, let them know that you got the email, and check your account through the link on the eBay site.

These kinds of emails are called phishing (don't know why) emails and they are always, ALWAYS, ALWAYS scams.

By Colette on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 12:02 pm:

Do not respond. Contact them directly not using the email you got.

By Cybermommyx4 on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 12:03 pm:

forward the e-mail you received to spoof@ebay.com. Never, ever, respond to any of these e-mails from "Ebay" or "PayPal"...we get at least 8-10 PER WEEK, and they are all bogus. DH does a lot of business on Ebay, and they would never send e-mails like that. If you are worried and want to verify your account information, type in the URL yourself and go directly to the site that way and view your info. I hate this type of spam- some of it looks *real* and it really bugs me! GRRRRRR :(

By Breann on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 07:30 pm:

It's a scam. Just ignore it. It really doesn't do any good to forward it to e-bay. There are hundreds of them out there.
I just delete them and move on.
Don't ever click on a link that says "click here to sign in".

By Dawnk777 on Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 08:28 pm:

If you mouse over the link they give you (not actually click), you will see that it never goes to ebay or paypal, or to a secure page. If you update any info on paypal or ebay, you are ALWAYS on a secure page (https:// and have a lock at the bottom of the page.)

I get so many of those and just delete them, from both ebay and paypal.


Posting is currently disabled in this topic. Contact your discussion moderator for more information.